

Annual General Meeting Monday 19 June 2023 at the STANSW Conference University of Sydney OR Online via Zoom

Scheduled time 1.45pm - 2.15pm

Minutes

1. Welcome, apologies and proxies

Attendees: Margaret Shepherd, Lauren McKnight, Philippa Miller, Jim Scott, Leda McFadzean, Ken Baumgarner, Handzia Shuhevych, Erin Mun, Jacqueline McCarthy, Elizabeth Porter, Susanne Williamson, Dianne Jones, Susan Langley, Jennifer Thompson, Frank Milic

Online: Lisa Cabral, Kathryn Newton, Tracey-Ann Palmer, Robin Gordon

2. Motion: To ratify the 2023 Science Teachers Association NSW Council and Executive:

Executive

Margaret Shepherd - President

Kathryn Newton - Treasurer

Lauren McKnight - Vice President

Council

Leda McFadzean

Ken Baumgarner

Sophia McClean

Robin Gordon

Tracey-Ann Palmer

Amy Ayres

Jacqueline McCarthy

Julie Rogers

Proposed: Philippa Miller

Seconded: Susanne Williams

All in Favour

3. Motion: To Accept the Minutes of 2022 Annual General Meeting

Proposed: Jacqueline McCarthy

Seconded: Amy Ayres

All in Favour

Motion Carried

- 4. Annual Report for 2022 STANSW Financial Year
 - President Report

Margaret Shepherd provided an overview of 2022 achievements. 2022 was a good year with extensive professional learning offerings. Zoom and virtual offerings continued, making STANSW professional learning and events more accessible.

With teacher shortages widespread in 2022, numbers at conferences were lower than expected, however STANSW has shown resilience and has seen growth in certain audiences, for example, our primary teachers.

Young Scientist Awards are growing, and in 2022 STANSW implemented new processes and a project portal for the program.

Treasurer Report

In 2022 STANSW experienced lower memberships and registrations, due to recovery from the effects of Covid and teacher shortages. In addition, costs of staffing and technology increased. The overall financial position however was favorable in comparison with the budget.

5. Motion: To award Dr Jenny Jones a STANSW Life Membership for long-term and extensive service to the Association.

Proposed: Margaret Shepherd

Seconded: Lauren McKnight

All in Favour

Motion Carried

6. Motion: To Appoint Tinworth and Co as the auditors of the 2023 STANSW financial accounts.

Proposed: Kathryn Newton

Seconded: Tracey Ann-Palmer

Abstained: Jim Scott

Motion Passed

Meeting Closed: 2.11pm

Science Teachers Association of NSW Inc 67-73 St Hilliers Road, Auburn NSW 2144

PO Box 699 Lidcombe, NSW 1825 www.stansw.asn.au